The Arts at the Cancer Institute

Prior to the opening of the Cancer Institute's 12-story expansion tower in August 2010, a call was put out for original art by Arkansas artists. With a total of 215 submissions, a committee of artists from the University of Arkansas system selected 46 pieces representing the work of 28 artists to display in the institute. Some of the works include multiple pieces designed to be displayed together.

In addition, the Cancer Institute commissioned two sculptures – "Seed of Hope" and "Transformation" -- by Michael Warrick, professor of sculpture at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, and an original stained glass window by David Soos.

The committee was led by Henri Linton, a member of the faculty at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff since 1969 and chair of its Art Department since 1980. Fellow committee members included Aj Smith and Brad Cushman of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and UAMS interior designer Claire Denham.

To view these works, as well as others that have been donated to the Cancer Instiute, and read the artists' bios, click on the links below.

Angela Anderson
Gay Bechtelheimer
Kathy Bay
Taylor Bellott
Win Bruhl
Paul Caldwell
Danny Campbell
Kevin Cole
V.L. Cox
Brad Cushman
Sharon Franke
Marlene Gremillion
Jane Hankins
Charles Harrington
James Hayes
LaToya M. Hobbs
John Humphry
Carole Katchen
Vicki Kovaleski

Barry Lindley
Henri Linton
Erin Lorenzen
Bryan Winfred Massey Sr.
Pat Matthews
Cheryl Moore
Ed Pennebaker
Nadine Ripplemeyer
Judy Rush
David Soos
David Simmons 
Aj Smith
Marty Smith
Katherine Strause
Dan Thornhill
Diane Ziemski
Michael Warrick
Marjorie Williams-Smith
George H. Wittenberg 

Featured Video


4018 W Capitol Ave.
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205
Google Map

New Appointments


Volunteer Now