Quantcast

Disease Oriented Committees (DOCs)

The Cancer Institute Disease Oriented Committees (DOCs) were created to bring together clinical, translational and basic research focused on a common disease site. This focus helps optimize resources, improve efficiency in the research process, and stimulates and supports new and exciting collaborative research ideas. The Cancer Institute currently has 11 different DOCs, defined below. Each DOC is focused on distinct cancer-related disease sites and has the following responsibilities:

  • Provide scientific review and priority for all research within the DOCs.
  • Enforce accrual standards for clinical research.
  • Review research requests to use shared resources such as tissue bank specimens that are generally banked (and not banked under a specific research protocol).
  • Provide an environment and forum that inspires research collaboration among basic, translational and clinical investigators.

For additional information or to join a DOC, please contact the appropriate coordinator listed below.

Disease Site
 

Coordinator

Meeting Time

Location

Brain

Shirley Ong, MD
song@uams.edu

No set schedule; meet as needed

Variable

Breast

Daniela Ochoa, MD
dochoa@uams.edu

Wednesdays
7-8 am
Mondays
8-9 am

Strauss-McCaskill Classroom,
10th floor Cancer Institute

GI

Issam Makhoul, MD
makhoulissam@uams.edu

Last Wednesday of the month
5-6 pm

Strauss-McCaskill Classroom
10th floor Cancer Institute

GU

Matthew Katz, MD
mdkatz@uams.edu

1st Friday
8-9 am

Director's Room
10th floor Cancer Institute

Gyn-Onc

Kristin Zorn, MD
kkzorn@uams.edu

TBD

TBD

Head and Neck
 

Mauricio Moreno, MD
mamoreno@uams.edu

3rd Wednesday
5-6 pm

Otolaryngology Large Conference Room,
9th floor Spine Center

Leukemia/
Lymphoma

Pooja Motwani, MD
pmotwani@uams.edu

TBD

TBD

Lung

Konstantinos Arnaoutakis, MD
karnaoutakis@uams.edu

1st Thursday 
4-5 pm

Strauss-McCaskill Classroom,
10th floor Cancer Institute

Melanoma

Laura Hutchins, MD
hutchinslauraf@uams.edu

1st and 3rd Tuesdays 
1-2 pm

Pathology Conference Room,
4th floor Shorey Building

Palliative Care
 

Sarah Harrington, MD
seharrington@uams.edu

TBD

TBD

Sarcoma

Corey Montgomery, MD
comontgomery@uams.edu

Every other Friday
8-9 am

Strauss-McCaskill Classroom, 
10th floor Cancer Institute

 

Featured Video


Parking

4018 W Capitol Ave.
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205
Google Map

New Appointments

501-296-1200



Volunteer Now